Gracie Howard selected 2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year in basketball

Gracie Howard of Christian Fellowship School has been selected the as a 2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year in basketball.  Howard plans to continue her basketball and academic career at Brecia University in Owensboro. She became the all-time scoring leader in the First Region among girls and boys this season and finished her career at CFS with 3,329 points.

The 2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athlete of the Year awards program culminated Tuesday on the campus of Midway University, as Carlie Thurmond of Bethlehem (Soccer) and Max Germann of Boyle County (Track & Field) were recognized as the overall Student-Athletes of the Year.

Beginning in May 2016, Midway has presented a Female Student-Athlete of the Year award at each KHSAA girls’ state championship event. The awards program was expanded in 2019-20 to include male student-athletes, with Midway honoring a deserving student-athlete in each KHSAA sport and sport-activity.

The awards are based on athletic and academic achievement, as well as community service and leadership, with Midway choosing one overall Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year each academic year. School administrators, coaches and athletic directors nominate student-athletes, and the nominees are voted upon by a closed panel consisting of representatives from Midway.

2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year

  • Archery: Rebecca Smith, Model; Jace Hatfield, Corbin
  • Baseball: Robert Hammons, Frankfort
  • Basketball: Gracie Howard, Christian Fellowship; Grant Bailey, Letcher County Central
  • Bass Fishing: Reagan Shelton, Powell County; Elijah Laflin, Christian Academy-Louisville
  • Bowling: Baylee Spickard, Franklin County; Colin Menner, Holy Cross (Covington)
  • Competitive Cheer: Ava Ledford, Knox Central
  • Cross Country: Autumn Egleston, Rowan County; Michael Zechella, Covington Catholic
  • Dance: Dixie Hall, McCracken County
  • Esports: Conner Layne, East Carter
  • Field Hockey: Megan Mauzy, Christian Academy-Louisville
  • Football: Jerod Smith, Corbin
  • Golf: MaddiJo Benton, Estill County; Jameson Corbin, Barren County
  • Indoor Track & Field: Flora Biro, DuPont Manual; Caleb Williams, Greenwood
  • Soccer: Carlie Thurmond, Bethlehem; Jonah Day, Madison Central
  • Softball: Lili Smith, Russell
  • Swimming & Diving: Haley McDonald, Sacred Heart; Landon Isler, Ryle
  • Tennis: Katie Switzer, Nicholas County; Sterling Chase, Central
  • Track & Field: Maxine Settle, Calloway County; Max Germann, Boyle County
  • Volleyball: Jada Knight, Warren East
  • Wrestling: Gabriella Borges, Simon Kenton; Kyle Wojcicki, North Oldham

* 2023-24 overall winners in bold