Mountain Bike team wins 9th straight State Championship

The Marshall County Mountain Bike team celebrates their 2022 and ninth straight state championship following Sunday’s race in Elizabethtown.

Since their formation in 2013, the Marshall County Mountain Bike team has won nine straight State Championships. The first seven as part of the Tennessee Interscholastic Cycling League and the last two in Kentucky after the Kentucky Interscholastic Cycling League was formed. No racing was held in 2020.

The final race of the 2022 season and also the State Championship was held on Sunday in Elizabethtown at Buffalo Lake Trails. The Marshall County team won the final race, increasing their undefeated streak record in races to 37-0. McCracken County placed second and Northern Kentucky Roots Composite rounded out the top three teams.

Eight team members made their way onto the race podium, including four first place finishes from Chase Binkley (Varsity Boys), Presleigh Jennings (Varsity Girls), Brady Atkins (Freshman Boys) and Emma Roberts (Freshman Girls). Taking the second spot on the podium, Clarie Austin (Sophomore Girls) and Eli Rudd (Sophomore Boys). The final two podium spots were Addison Roberts (Sophomore Girls) and Nate Boone (6th Grade Boys).

Three riders won overall individual state titles from an accumulation of results from the season – Presleigh Jennings (Varsity Girls), Emma Roberts (Freshman Girls) and Brady Atkins (Freshman Boys). More state championship podiums came from Chase Binkley (2nd, Varsity Boys), Eli Rudd (2nd, Sophomore Boys), Claire Austin (2nd, Sophomore Girls) and Addison Roberts (3rd, Freshman Girls).

Following the Marshall County overall season championship, McCracken County finished second and Northern Kentucky Roots Composite was third.

Three seniors competed in their final race as part of the team – Chase Binkley, Presleigh Jennings and Wade Driver.

This completes the second season of the Kentucky Interscholastic Cycling League, a member of the National Interscholastic Cycling Association (NICA) that has leagues in 30 states.


Marshall County coaches Jourdan Palmeri and Ralph Jennings accepting the first place team trophy along with Marshall County seniors (front L-R) Presleigh Jennings, Wade Driver and Chase Binkley.

Mountain Bike State Championship, 10-23-22