Marshall County leads team standings after Race #2

Marshall County’s Jaxon Story (right) and Troy Fields (gold jersey) of Lock 4 Trailblazers, battled throughout the Varsity race that came down to a sprint in the final meters of the race. Photo: Laura Jennings

Race #2 of the Tennessee Interscholastic Cycling League’s fall 2019 season was held on Sunday in Columbia, TN, at Chickasaw Trace Park. The Marshall County team placed 11 team members on the podium at the end of the day and took the overall team win.

Three riders claimed first, starting with Presleigh Jennings (Varsity), Olivia Myhand (JV) and Chase Binkley (Sophomore). Varsity rider Jaxon Story narrowly missed first in tight race with Troy Fields of the Lock 4 Trailblazers team. Four riders took the second spot on the podium – Story (Varsity), Alyssa McClain (Varsity), Allie Burkeen (Freshman) and Claire Austin (8th grade).

More podium results include – Aniston Barnes (3rd-8th grade), Emma Roberts (3rd-6th grade), Memphis Ford (4th-8th grade) and Ty Elrod (5th-8th grade). Four just off the podium included Clay Austin (6th-Varsity), Caleb Pahl (6th-Sophomore), Jace Story (6th-Freshman) and Evie Powell (4th-7th grade).

Three lead in overall points after the first two races – Jennings in Varsity girls, Myhand is tied for the lead in JV girls and Binkley in Sophomore boys. Marshall County leads in team standings after the first two races. Williamson County Composite is in second and Christ Presbyterian Academy is third among the 27 teams competing. Marshall County’s middle school team is currently in second behind Hamilton and Bradley County Composite.

Over 400 racers competed on Sunday, the largest class the JV boys with 68. The 8th grade boy’s class was 58 strong, Sophomore boys started with a field of 55 and the Freshman boys field had 45.

The third race of the five-race season is on October 6th in Memphis at Shelby Farms.

Marshall County race results/division:

Presleigh Jennings, 1st-Varsity Jaxon Story, 2nd-Varsity
Alyssa McClain, 2nd-Varsity Clay Austin, 6th-Varsity
Olivia Myhand, 1st-JV Kaleb Cosby, 9th-Varsity
Allie Burkeen, 2nd-Freshman Kaden Jameson, 10th-Varsity
Jasper Cosby, 7th-Freshman Dusty Bass, 15th-Varsity
Claire Austin, 2nd-8th grade Carson Denfip, 18th-JV
Aniston Barnes, 3rd-8th grade Joseph Roberts, 21st-JV
Evie Powell, 4th-7th grade Chase Binkley, 1st-Sophomore
Emma Roberts, 3rd-6th grade Caleb Pahl, 6th-Sophomore
Trae Harbison, 19th-Sophomore
Marshall Gregory, 36th-Sophomore
Gabe Driskill, 42nd-Sophomore
Jace Story, 6th-Freshman
Memphis Ford, 4th-8th grade
Ty Elrod, 5th-8th grade
Chase Yarbrough, 26th-8th grade
Canyon McKinney, 46th-7th grade
Braxton Lima, 9th-6th grade
Bradey Atkins, 10th-6th grade
Ian Dillon, 19th-6th grade
Alyssa McClain finished second behind teammate Presleigh Jennings to take the top two spots on the podium in the girl’s Varsity race. Photo: Laura Jennings

Marshall County leads the overall team standings after the first two races of the season. Photo: Laura Jennings