Beth named Kentucky’s 2020 Ms. Golf

Trinity Beth was named 2020 Ms. Golf by the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association (KGCA) and Golf House Kentucky on Friday. Beth, a seventh grader, helped lead the Lady Marshals to a fourth straight region tournament title and the first-ever Marshall County High School girl’s golf state championship.

Beth finished +5 (75-74=149) at the KHSAA Girl’s State Championship at Bowling Green Country Club, to lead the team to a 39-stroke win, the third best team score in girl’s state championship history.

Beth and Savannah Howell were selected to the All State First Team and Megan Hertter earned Second Team honors. Jay Nimmo, the 2020 individual state champion was also selected to the All State First Team. Nimmo was the 2019 Mr. Golf.

Read the full press release below of today’s announcement and the All State First and Second Teams for girls and boys.

LOUISVILLE, KY (October 16, 2020) – Rylan Wotherspoon, a junior at Cooper High School,
has been named Mr. Golf, and Trinity Beth, a seventh grader at Marshall County High School has been named Ms. Golf for 2020, as the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association and Golf House Kentucky have released this year’s All State First Team and Second Team.

Wotherspoon earned 1,075 points on the season for a 30-point edge on last year’s Mr. Golf, Jay Nimmo. Wotherspoon’s season was highlighted by a victory at the KGCA All-State Championship at University Club of Kentucky in September. Wotherspoon was also the runnerup in the KHSAA State Championship at Bowling Green Country Club last week after being defeated by Nimmo in a sudden-death playoff. He won the 7th Region championship, and also won seven invitational tournaments during the regular season. Wotherspoon has already announced his commitment to the University of Cincinnati and will play college golf for the Bearcats following his high school graduation. Nimmo completed his senior year with a second consecutive victory in the KHSAA State Championship, a tie for second in the KGCA All State Championship, winning the 1st Region Tournament and collecting three invitational victories during the season.

Beth was a runaway victor of Ms. Golf, ending the season with a 125-point cushion over runner up Casey Powell, a senior at Paul Laurence Dunbar. Beth was a member of the dominant Marshall County girls team which won both the All-State and KHSAA team titles. On an individual basis, she was the runner-up in the All-State Championship while collecting a fourth place finish at Bowling Green in the State Championship. But it was three victories and two runner-up finishes as an individual in over the course of the season that pushed her to the top in a comfortable manner. Still having five more high school seasons beyond this year, Beth has established herself as one of the top players in the state this fall. Powell capped her senior year with a victory in the 9th Region Tournament, a fifth place finish in the KGCA All State Championship, and three invitational wins this season.

The All-State Golf First and Second Teams are chosen by points earned in high school invitationals, KGCA All-State Championships, Regionals, and the KHSAA State Championships. Invitationals submit their results to the All-State points committee comprised of Directors from Golf House Kentucky, the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association, plus boys and girls high school coaches. The complete listing of boys and girls teams, with schools and final points, is as follows:

Rylan Wotherspoon (2022), Cooper High School (1075 points)
Jay Nimmo (2021), Marshall County High School (1045 points)
Justin Gabbard (2021), Highlands High School (840 points)
Allan Lockwood (2021), Central Hardin High School (780 points)
Clay Pendergrass (2023), Madison Central High School (755 points)
Warren Thomis (2024), Madison Central High School (725 points)
Jackson Finney (2022), St. Xavier High School (720 points)
Jackson Hill (2022) Madisonville North Hopkins High School (675 points)
Luke Coyle (2023), Taylor County High School (645 points)
Tyler Mitts (2021), Grant County County High School (645 points)

Trinity Beth (2026), Marshall County High School (930 points)
Casey Powell (2021), Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (805 points)
Savannah Howell (2022), Marshall County High School (800 points)
Macey Brown (2022), Apollo High School (755 points)
Grace Clark (2021), Shelby County High School (750 points)
Faith Martin (2021), South Warren High School (735 points)
Abbie Lee (2021), Glasgow High School (725 points)
Isabella Wiley (2023), Shelby County High School (720 points)
Macie Brown (2023), Bullitt East High School (720 points)
Abigail Sutherland (2022), Sacred Heart Academy (720 points)
Charlie Reber (2023), Bowling Green High School (635 points)

Gehrig Sexton (2022), Wayne County High School (625 points)
Logan Liles (2022), Lewis County High School (605 points)
Luke Muller (2021), Highlands High School (600 points)
Logan McCormick (2022), Montgomery County High School (585 points)
Grey Goff (2023), Lexington Christian Academy (580 points)
Ryan Butler (2021), St. Henry District High School (580 points)
Cam Roberts (2025), Pikeville High School (560 points)
Kannon Tucker (2021), Somerset High School (545 points)
C.J. Corum (2021), Clay County High School (535 points)
Madison Borders (2023), Thomas Nelson High School (715 points)

Elizabeth Eberle (2023), Madison Central High School (690 points)
McKenna Stahl (2021), South Warren High School (670 Points)
Mary Browder Howell (2021), Murray High School (645 points)
Megan Hertter (2022), Marshall County High School (615 points)
Maddi Hudson (2023), Grant County High School (605 Points)
Mary Keene Marrs (2022), Lexington Christian Academy (595 Points)
Christy Ann Carter (2024), Lexington Christian Academy (595 Points)
Nina McMurtrey (2022), Glasgow High School (590 Points)
Grace Walker (2021), Christian Academy of Louisville (540 Points)