CFSB Announces Annual Scholarship Winners

Benton, KY)-CFSB is proud to announce the recipients of annual scholarships to students at Christian Fellowship School and Marshall County High School.

The annual CFS Eagle Scholar is awarded to a student at Christian Fellowship School meeting certain criteria including, but not limited to, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, class rank and community/church activities.

The 2019-2020 CFS Eagle Scholar is Mary Alexis “Lexi” Hovekamp, daughter of Stepheni Bivin. Lexi has been active in the Bible, BETA, DECA and German clubs as well as the Yearbook (Editor). Hovekamp, a member of the Lady Eagles volleyball team was named to the KHSAA Academic All-State First Team, was awarded the All-A Award, Red/Gold Award and the Physical Education Award. She is the class of 2020 Salutatorian. She volunteers as a tutor for elementary students, Fall Party, The Bridge Ministry, Benefit Dinner, Veteran’s Day Program, CFS Yard Sale, Murray-Calloway County Need Line and Marcella’s Kitchen. Lexi plans are to attend Murray State University to major in Psychology.

The MCHS Marshal Scholarships are awarded to recipients meeting certain criteria including, but not limited to, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, class rank and extra-curricular activities.

The 2019-2020 MCHS Marshal Scholarship recipients are:

Girls Academic: Cori Elizabeth Hack, daughter of Robert Hack and Tera Smith. Cori has been a member of Marshall Militia, HOSA (Vice President of Membership), Yearbook Staff (Editor), Student Ambassador for MCHS, National Society of High School Scholars Ambassador, Principal’s Advisory Board and Thoroughbred Academy. She was an international competitor at the HOSA International Leadership Conference in Biomedical Laboratory Science at Walt Disney World’s EPCOT. Cori is a state registered Nurse Aide and has volunteered with Coats for Kids, Marshall County Exceptional Center’s Ratoberfest, MCHS Graduation Usher and Bailey Holt’s Halloween Fun Run. She will be attending Murray State University and major in Nursing.

Girls Athletic: Carmen Gunn, daughter of Chris and Melissa Gunn. Carmen has been a member of the Lady Marshals Soccer team and the Lady Marshals Track team. She was the 2018 and 2019 Marshall County Tribune-Courier Female Athlete of the Year, Soccer First Team All-State, Region and District and she was named as Captain of the soccer team. Carmen was also named Region One Most Valuable Player (MVP) and ranks third all-time in scoring for the Lady Marshals Soccer program. She was named Team Offensive MVP and Hustle Award winner. Carmen qualified for the KHSSA State Track Meet with the 4×400 relay team in 2017 and 2018 and the 4×800 relay team in 2018 and 2019. Gunn has been named to the Honor Roll, Advanced Placement (AP) Honor Roll and KHSAA Academic All-State. She has been a member of the Student Council (Vice President), BETA Club, Science Olympiad, National Honors Society and Gold Club (drug and alcohol prevention). Gunn is a weekly volunteer with the Snack Pack program. She has participated at the Western Kentucky Youth Camp and was named Camper of the Week, Most Athletic Camper and Most Congenial Camper. Gunn also won the Bible Bowl in 2017 and finished as runner-up in 2018 and 2019. Carmen will attend Harding University, playing soccer with an educational emphasis in Pre-Law.

Boys Academic: Tyler C. Ashley, son of Christina Hatton. Tyler has been involved in the Spanish Club, FBLA and the National Art Honor Society. He earned a 2018 AP Scholar with Honor and a 2019 AP Scholar with Distinction. Tyler is Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) Certified in Hardware/Software Maintenance, MTA Certified in Networking Fundamentals and Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (A*S*K) Business Fundamentals Industry Certified. He plans to attend Murray State University and major in Information Technology.

Boys Athletic: Michael “CJ” Johnson, son of Mike and Jenni Johnson. CJ has been a varsity member of the Marshals Baseball team and played Freshman and Junior Varsity Basketball. He was a member of the Young Americans for Freedom (President), Fellowship of Christian Athletes (Huddle Leader), Y Club, Teenage Republicans of Marshall County (President), Marshall Militia (General), KHSAA Student Advisory Council, National Federation of High School Sports National Hype Conference, KHSAA State Hype Conference Leader/Organizer, MCHS Health and Wellness Committee and the MCHS Title IX Gender Equity Committee. He was selected to the KHSAA First Team Academic All-State, National Honor Society, National Society of Leadership, Kentucky Department of Education’s Student Advisory Council and is a member of the Five-Mile Foundation: Colonial Experience Selection. CJ also volunteers with Special Olympics, Preston Cope Memorial Wiffle Ball Tournament and Marshall County Little League. He has participated in domestic and international mission trips and is a small group leader for local weekly mission activities including the Backyard Bible Club. CJ was a panel speaker at the West Kentucky FCA Game Changer Banquet. He also won the Civil Engineering competition at Murray State University’s Engineering Day. CJ is a 2020 Honor Graduate. Johnson will play baseball at Midway University and major in Business Administration: Leadership; Political Science/Government.

CFSB also congratulates the winner of the annual Star Bank Scholarship. This student must have participated in the Financial Services Class at MCHS, taught by Rebecca Phelps and sponsored by CFSB. Star Bank, in its 29th year of operation, is the student-run bank at Marshall County High School. In order to receive this scholarship, the student must show terrific leadership skills in this hands-on class.

This year’s Star Bank Scholarship goes to Alyssa Wallace, daughter of Lendie Coomer. She served as Vice President of Client Services. Alyssa was a member of FBLA, Yearbook (Co-Editor), Thoroughbred Academy and Marshall Militia. She placed third in the region for Public Service Announcements with FBLA in 2020. She has volunteered hosting luncheons for her church youth group and has gone on the Hillcrest Mission Trip for the past two years. Alyssa will attend Murray State University and major in Accounting.

Congratulations to each of our Scholarship winners! CFSB is proud of all of your accomplishments!