Judge Executive Kevin Neal among 17th Annual 911 Honor Award Winners

Washington, DC – The Next Generation 911 Institute (NG911 Institute) is pleased to announce the winners of the 17th Annual 911 Honor Awards:

Industry Professional: Tracy Eldridge, RapidSOS 
911 Public Safety Professional: Kevin Garcia, Jeffcom 911 
911 Public Safety Professional: Stephanie Sigler, Rice County Emergency Communications  Government Leader: Hon. Kevin Neal, Marshall County Fiscal Court 
NG911 Awareness: Tyrell T. Morris, CPE, Orleans Parish Communication District 
Outstanding 911 Call Center/Program: VITA Integrated Services Program 
Citizen in Action: Seth and Claire Johnson, Overland Park, KS 
Carla Anderson Heart of 911: Evelyn Bailey, NASNA

Statement from Judge Executive Kevin Neal:
“I am humbled to accept the NG911 Institute Board of Director’s 2020 Government Leader of the Year award. The 911 profession has been, for too long, viewed as a subservient role in the public safety community, by both the public and fellow responders. Our 911 telecommunicators are the critical infrastructure that ensures all public safety response efforts happen when our community needs them. We will continue to elevate the profession, provide them the funding and resources they need as we progress into NG911. Collaboration of multiple counties for shared delivery of 911 services must first start with investing in our 911 center and the 911 staff we depend on. We have all used, or know someone who has used the services of our 911 center, and our focus is making sure it’s the very best it can be for our communities.”

“Hundreds of millions of 911 callers every year rely on the dedication and cooperation of our public safety professionals, government leaders and industry partners” said Wes Wright, NG911 Institute Executive Director. “The Institute is honored to recognize just a few of the extraordinary individuals that have dedicated their lives to aiding those in need, putting the safety of others above all else. They are the reason our nation’s 911 system is the gold standard for emergency response.”

About the 911 Honor Awards Reception The 911 Honor Awards reception is an annual event to honor 911 heroes and leaders. The Co-Chairs of the Congressional Next Gen 911 Caucus (Reps. Shimkus and Eshoo and Senators Burr and Klobuchar) and other Members of Congress and federal government officials will join 911 leaders from across the country. The awards reception will be held on Wednesday, February 12, from 5:00pm to 8:00pm in the Foyer of the Rayburn House Office Building – presentation of awards to begin at 6:00pm.