Mountain Bike Team wins 7th straight state title

The Marshall County High School Mountain Bike Team celebrating their seventh consecutive Tennessee League State Championship.

The Tennessee Interscholastic Cycling League wrapped up its seventh season on Sunday with the State Championship race at St. Andrews-Sewanee School in Sewanee, Tenn. The Marshall County team has been a member of the league since it’s inception in 2013 and on Sunday, won their seventh consecutive team state title.

Four members of the high school team and one middle school rider won overall series State Championship titles – Presleigh Jennings, Olivia Myhand, Chase Binkley, Allie Burkeen and Claire Austin.

Jennings, a freshman, won the Varsity State Championship earning her third state title after winning JV in 2018 and the Sophomore title in 2017. Myhand won the JV State Championship, her second state title, winning the 8th Grade title in 2017. Binkley, a freshman, won the Sophomore State Championship, his second after winning the 8th Grade state title last season. Burkeen, a seventh grader, won the Freshman State Championship and Austin won the 8th Grade State Championship, a repeat title after winning it in 2018.

Jaxon Story finished second to Troy Fields of the Lock 4 Trailblazers Composite team in boy’s Varsity, the two going head-to-head in tight finishes all season. Story, a junior, won the Varsity state title in 2018 and the JV title in 2017.

Sophomore Alyssa McClain finished second in the girl’s Varsity state results. In her second season at the Varsity level, McClain finished second last season and second overall in JV in 2017. She won the Freshman state title in 2016 and 2015.

Rounding out the high school podiums for the state overall series, Clay Austin took fifth in Varsity and Jace Story third in Freshman.

In the final state race and overall series podiums on Sunday, the Marshall County High School team put eight riders on the podium and the Middle School team made seven podium appearances.

In Middle School overall series state podium results, along with Claire Austin’s first in the 8th Grade standings, Aniston Barnes finished fourth. Also in 8th Grade results, Memphis Ford finished the year in second and Ty Elrod fifth. Evie Powell placed fourth in 7th Grade and in the 6th Grade division, Emma Roberts finished third and Addison Barnes took fifth.

The high school team extended their perfect race record to 29-0 with Sunday’s State Championship race win along with their seventh straight overall State Championship title. Williamson County Composite took second overall and Lock 4 Trailblazers Composite third among 27 teams in the league this season with almost 400 competing in Sunday’s championship.

The league recognized middle school teams overall performances this season and Hamilton and Bradley County Composite took the overall season win, Marshall County Middle took second and Williamson County Composite third among 23 teams.

The largest senior class in the team’s seven year history raced for the final time for Marshall County Sunday – Joseph Roberts, Carson Denfip, Clay Austin, Kaleb Cosby and Dusty Bass. Coaches are Steve Beckett and Jourdan Griffith.

Marshall County will compete in the Tennessee League for the final season next fall with the launch of the National Interscholastic Cycling League (NICA) in Kentucky in 2021.

Complete State Championship race and overall State Championship series results below.

State Championship Race/ Overall Series Championship
Varsity Girls Varsity Girls
1st Presleigh Jennings 1st Presleigh Jennings
2nd Alyssa McClain 2nd Alyssa McClain
Varsity Boys Varsity Boys
2nd Jaxon Story 2nd Jaxon Story
6th Kaden Jameson 5th Clay Austin
7th Clay Austin 6th Kaden Jameson
11th Kaleb Cosby 11th Kaleb Cosby
JV Girls 16th Dusty Bass
2nd Olivia Myhand JV Girls
JV Boys 1st Olivia Myhand
17th Carson Denfip JV Boys
26th Joseph Roberts 16th Carson Denfip
Sophomore Boys 17th Joseph Roberts
1st Chase Binkley Sophomore Boys
4th Caleb Pahl 1st Chase Binkley
31st Marshall Gregory 7th Caleb Pahl
33rd Trae Harbison 16th Trae Harbison
49th Gabe Driskill 19th Marshall Gregory
Freshman Girls 39th Gabe Driskill
1st Allie Burkeen Freshman Girls
8th Jasper Cosby 1st Allie Burkeen
Freshman Boys 8th Jasper Cosby
5th Jace Story Freshman Boys
8th Girls 3rd Jace Story
1st Claire Austin 44th Wade Driver
5th Aniston Barnes 8th Girls
8th Boys 1st Claire Austin
4th Memphis Ford 4th Aniston Barnes
5th Chase Yarbrough 8th Boys
7th Ty Elrod 2nd Memphis Ford
7th Girls 5th Ty Elrod
4th Evie Powell 8th Chase Yarbrough
7th Boys 7th Girls
23rd Canyon McKinney 4th Evie Powell
6th Girls 7th Boys
4th Addison Roberts 30th Canyon McKinney
5th Emma Roberts 6th Girls
6th Boys 3rd Emma Roberts
10th Braxton Lima 5th Addison Roberts
12th Brady Atkins 6th Boys
16th Ian Dillon 9th Braxton Lima
11th Brady Atkins
18th Ian Dillon
Wearing the gold Leader’s Jersey for the high school team heading into Sunday’s State Championship, top (L-R) Presleigh Jennings and Olivia Myhand, bottom (L-R) Chase Binkley and Allie Burkeen – the riders held onto their leads to claim overall series (five races) state titles.
Marshall County’s Middle School team placed second for the season behind first place Hamilton and Bradley County Composite team.

Click on the gallery to scroll through the Marshall County overall State Championship podiums.