Nimmo named Kentucky’s 2019 Mr. Golf

Laney Frye repeats as Ms. Golf, Jay Nimmo named 2019 Mr.Golf
Savannah Howell named to Girl’s First Team

LOUISVILLE – Lexington Christian Academy senior Laney Frye repeated as Kentucky’s Ms. Golf for the 2019 season, while Marshall County junior Jay Nimmo earned honors as Kentucky’s 2019 Mr. Golf with the All-State First & Second Team announced by Golf House Kentucky and the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association.

Frye totaled 925 points to become the first repeat winner as Ms. Golf since Lydia Gumm of North Hardin did so from 2010 to 2012. Frye was also a member of the All-State First Team in 2017. She secured the Ms. Golf Award by finishing as the runner up of the 2019 Leachman Buick-GMC-Cadillac KHSAA State Championship. During the regular season, Frye won four tournaments and finished tied for runner up in the KGCA All State Championship. This year’s runner-up was junior Faith Martin (South Warren High School), who finished 35 points behind Frye with a total of 890 points, and also finished tied for second at the KGCA All State Championship and concluded her season by finishing third in the KHSAA State Championship.

Nimmo totaled 915 points to leave him 110 points ahead of runner up senior Drew Doyle (St Xavier High School) using totals from the best seven All-State Point Invitational results during the regular season plus placement in the Regional and State Tournaments. Nimmo completed his season by winning the 2019 Leachman Buick-GMC-Cadillac KHSAA State Championship. During the season, Nimmo finished with ten Top 10 finishes in Invitational tournaments with four wins while finishing tied for fourth in the KGCA All State Championship and winning the Boys Region 1 Championship. This is the second time Nimmo has earned a spot on the First Team. Doyle finished as Runner Up in the KGCA All State Championship and concluded his season with a fourth place tie at the KHSAA State Championship as well.

The All State Golf First and Second Teams are chosen by points earned in high school invitationals, KGCA All State Championships, Regional Tournaments and the KHSAA State Championship. Invitationals submit their results to the All-State Points Committee comprised of Directors from Golf House Kentucky, the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association, and boys and girls high school coaches.

The First Team players and coaches will be honored at the All-State Banquet on Sunday, November 3 at Keene Trace Golf Club (Champions Course). The banquet is sponsored by the Kentucky PGA Junior Tour (Golf House Kentucky) and the Kentucky Golf Coaches Association (KGCA). Anyone interested in tickets may e-mail a request to Ray Moehlman ( ) or Kevin Mims ( ).

The complete listing of boys and girls teams, with schools and final points, can be found below:

Jay Nimmo (2021), Marshall County High School (915 points)
Drew Doyle (2020), St. Xavier High School (805 points)
Luke Coyle (2023), Taylor County High School (795 points)
Rylan Wotherspoon (2022), Cooper High School (790 points)
John Marshall Butler (2020), Trinity High School (735 points)
Jansen Preston (2020), Lexington Christian Academy (690 points)
Alex Hadden (2020), Henry County High School (675 points)
Hayes Mason (2021 ) Taylor County High School (675 points)
Collier Curd (2020), Bowling Green High School (640 points)
Daniel Love (2020), Daviess County High School (635 points)

Laney Frye (2020), Lexington Christian Academy (925 points)
Faith Martin (2021), South Warren High School (890 points)
Olivia Hensley (2020), Boyd County High School (885 points)
Mattie Neeley (2020), Madison Central High School (840 points)
Kate Hanni (2021), Ashland Blazer High School (755 points)
Rylea Marcum (2020), Great Crossing High School (735 points)
Savannah Howell (2022), Marshall County High School (645 points)
Abbie Lee (2021), Glasgow High School (630 points)
Delia Gibbs (2020), Lexington Christian Academy (625 points)
Maddie Cecil (2020), Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (575 points)
Grace Clark (2021), Shelby County High School (575 points)

Tyler Mitts (2021), Grant County High School (620 points)
Zach Watterson (2023 ), Lee County High School (585 points)
Reese Sexton (2020), Wayne County High School (585 points)
Kannon Tucker (2021), Somerset High School (575 points)
Justin Gabbard (2021), Highlands High School (540 points)
Jackson Hill (2022), Madisonville North Hopkins High School (520 points)
Owen Stamper (2020), Allen County-Scottsville High School (510 points)
Parker Smith (2020), Ballard High School (500 points)
Matthew Troutman (2022), Christian Academy of Louisville (495 points)
Ballard Harris (2020), Trinity High School (490 points)

Abbie Cook (2020), Bishop Brossart High School (555 points)
Abigail Sutherland (2022), Sacred Heart High School (525 points)
Macie Brown (2023), Bullitt East High School (515 points)
Addie Westbrook (2020), Taylor County High School (515 points)
Grace Walker (2020), Christian Academy of Louisville (500 points)
Maddi Hudson (2023), Grant County High School (490 Points)
McKenna Stahl (2021), South Warren High School (490 Points)
Hannah Curreri (2020), George Rogers Clark High School (470 Points)
Connor Geralds (2020), Monroe County High School (470 Points)