CFSB announces annual scholarship winners

(Benton, KY)-CFSB is proud to announce the recipients of annual scholarships to students at Christian Fellowship School and Marshall County High School.

The annual CFS Eagle Scholar is a scholarship awarded from CFSB to a student at Christian Fellowship School meeting certain criteria including, but not limited to, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, class rank and community/church activities.

The 2018-2019 CFS Eagle Scholar is Alison Grace Durrett, daughter of Rob and Melissa Durrett.  Alison has been active in DECA as the treasurer, vice president and president.  She also has been the class secretary, student council secretary, vice president and chaplain.  She was a member of the Bible Club, A-B Honor Roll and Beta Club.  Alison participated in volleyball, cheerleading and archery. She volunteers with the Bridge Ministry and helps in the Missions Department at Christian Fellowship Church and has made multiple mission trips. Alison plans are to attend West Kentucky Community and Technical College, then Murray State University to major in Pre-Law.

The Marshall County High School Scholarship Scoreboard is a scholarship awarded to recipients meeting certain criteria including, but not limited to, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, class rank and extra-curricular activities.  The dollar amount of this scholarship involves the culmination of monies being added up for every Marshall County Football First Down ($4), Marshall County Soccer Goals ($5), Marshall County Basketball Three Point Shots ($3) and Kasasa K’s (Strikeouts by MCHS Pitchers) in Baseball and Softball ($3) as advertised during athletic events aired on, 99.1 FM/1290 AM WCBL and 95.7 FM WCCK Radio.  The total is then divided into four scholarship categories-Academic Female, Athletic Female, Academic Male and Athletic Male.

The 2018-2019 MCHS Scoreboard Scholarship recipients are:

Girls Academic: Tory Phelps Driskill, daughter of Chad and Amy Driskill.  Tory has been active with the Y Club as the Secretary, FBLA, Trash Club and the Marching Marshals, Concert and Jazz Bands and the Honor Band.  Tory was also a Band Council Member.  She was awarded as a member of the Quad State Band, All District Band and was named an AP Scholar.  She has volunteered with the Marshall County Public Library clubs including Odes Writing Club, Young Advisory Panel, Teen Advisory Panel and the Teen Advisory Club.  She also participated as a makeup artist at Forgiveness House  She is a member of the Lone Oak church of Christ and active in the youth group, community outreach programs, a Sunday School teaching assistant and aids in the Golden Years Banquet.  She plans on attending the University of Kentucky and major in Chemical Engineering.

Girls Athletic: Alec Jones, daughter of Jason and Kelly Jones. Alec has been a Varsity Cheerleader as well as being a member of Marshall Militia, Pep Club, T.R.A.S.H. Club, Gold Club, Principal’s Student Advisory Council, Junior Rotary Interact and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.  Alec was a Senior Class Representative, Co-Founder of the Y Club and an Alumni of the Governor’s Scholar Program. She has volunteered with the TrialNet Type 1 Diabetes Research Patient and an Elementary School Special Education Tutor.  She is an active member of the Benton church of Christ youth group, Vacation Bible School Leader, Bible Class Teacher and Nursery Attendant.  Alec will attend the University of Alabama and double major in English and Political Science.

Boys Academic: Matthew “David” Hilbrecht, son of Matt and Laurie Hilbrecht.  David’s school activities include the Future Business Leaders of America, Yearbook Production, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Young Republicans and he is the President of The Bank of Marshall Nation, sponsored by CFSB.  He is a member of the Honor Roll, a GSP High Achiever, a Finalist in the VFW essay contest and has certifications from KOSSA and IC3.  He is also a PADI Certified Diver.  He competes with USA Powerlifting and is a NASM Certified Personal Trainer.  He is a member of Hardin Baptist Church, where he participates in Go-Time Ministries, Arizona Missions, Kids Against Hunger and Operation Christmas Child.  He also volunteers with Marcella’s Kitchen and the Merryman House.  He will be attending Western Kentucky University and double major in Biology and Chemistry.

Boys Athletic: Tyler “Griffen” Ives, son of Kurt and Stephanie Ives. Griffen has been a member of the Marshals Baseball and Basketball teams.  He was selected as the University of Kentucky Orthopedics and Sports Medicine Comeback Player of the Year, Wendy’s High School Heisman School Winner and the Marshall County Tribune Courier’s Male Athlete of the Year. Griffen was named as the 2019 Basketball Homecoming King.  He volunteers with the Special Olympics, Marcella’s Kitchen, Benton-Central Family Resource Center and at Benton Elementary School.  He is a member of the First Baptist Church and is active in their Youth Group.  He plans to attend West Kentucky Community and Technical College to become a Physical Therapy Assistant.

CFSB also congratulates the winner of the annual Bank of Marshall Nation (BMN) Scholarship. This student must have participated in the Financial Services Class at MCHS, taught by Rebecca Phelps and sponsored by CFSB. The Bank of Marshall Nation (formerly Star Bank), in its 28th year of operation, is the student-run bank at Marshall County High School. In order to receive this scholarship, the student must show terrific leadership skills in this hands-on class.  This year’s BMN Scholarship goes toMegan Fiessinger, is the daughter of Jason and Heather Fiessinger. She served as Vice President of Communications for the Bank of Marshall Nation.  Megan was a member of the Honor Roll, Future Business Leaders of America, Kindness Club, Yearbook Staff and Marshall Militia.  She is a member of Hardin Baptist Church.  Megan volunteers at Bags of Love and at Hugs and has received the President’s Volunteer Service Award and the Prudential Spirit Community Award. She plans to attend Western Kentucky University and major in Marketing/Sales.


Congratulations to each of our Scholarship winners!  CFSB is proud of all of your accomplishments!