Nimmo honored at banquet for All State First Team selection

Coach Keith Bell and Jay Nimmo at Sunday’s 2018 All-State banquet in Lexington.

Jay Nimmo was recognized for making the 2018 Kentucky First Team All State boys golf team at a ceremony in Lexington on Sunday. Jay was the number five player on the ten man squad.

High school golfers earn “All State” points for how they place in their top seven high school tournaments and post-season tournaments. Jay, a sophomore at Marshall County High School, played in nine regular season tournaments, the regional and the state championship tournaments.

He was the individual medalist in four tournaments during the 2018 season: Best of the West, Paducah Tilghman Invitational, Union County Invitational and the Region 1 Tournament.

Jay tied for 12th place as an individual in the two-day KHSAA State Championships at Bowling Green Country Club. This is Jay’s sixth year on the Marshall County boy’s golf team. He has been playing in the number one position for the past two seasons and is proving he is among the best high school golfers in the state of Kentucky.

Tyler Powell, a junior at Marshall County High School, was named to the Second Team All State boys golf team. He tied for 17th place in the second tier of players named. Tyler was the individual medalist in two tournaments during the 2018 season: Dawson Springs Invitational and Marshall Co Invitational. He was the fifth place individual at the Region 1 Tournament and tied for 26th at the State Championship.

John Butler (Trinity) and Laney Frye (Lexington Christian Academy) were named 2018 Mr. and Ms. Golf.

2018 Boy’s All State First Team
John Butler (Trinity)
C.M. Mixon (South Warren)
Luke Coyle (Taylor County)
Cooper Parks (Taylor County)
Jay Nimmo (Marshall County)
Collier Curd (Bowling Green)
Brody Webb (Scott County)
Campbell Kremer (St. Xavier)
Reese Sexton (Wayne County)
Jansen Preston (Lexington Christian Academy)

2018 Girl’s All State First Team
Laney Frye (Lexington Christian Academy)
Rylea Marcum (Scott County)
Faith Martin (South Warren)
Taylor Edlin (Sacred Heart Academy)
Molly Bebelaar (South Oldham)
Olivia DiPaolo (Ryle)
MacKenzie Neal (Madison Central)
Olivia Hanni (Ashland Blazer)
Grace Clark (Shelby County)