Penn and Heath selected Player and Coach of the Year

Bryson Penn and Coach Donnie Heath received a plaque from Marshall County Principal Patricia Greer, at the conclusion of Thursday’s regional championship game, honoring their selections as Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Marshall County junior Bryson Penn has been selected as the 2018 Region One Player of the Year and Head Coach Donnie Heath, in his second year as head coach of the Marshals, the 2018 Coach of the Year.

Penn finished the season with a team high 47 goals and seven assists and helped lead the Marshals to a district title, the first since 2014 and region runner-up.

Coach Heath, in his second year as head coach, led the Marshals to a record of 19-4-1 and the most wins for the boy’s team since the 2003 season. The Marshals out-scored their opponents in those 19 wins, 105 to 14.

Marshall County players selected to the All-Region 1st Team: Tyler Belcher, Daniel Gardner, Bryson Penn and Ben Samson.
Marshall County players selected to the All-Region 2nd Team: Austin Stockdale, Seth Janiec and Drake May.

2018 All Region Teams

Bryson Penn (Marshall) Zak Mathis (Murray) Kevin Pastor (McCracken)
Jacob Smith (Calloway) Alex Arellano (Graves) Austin Rainey (Mayfield)
Jaxon Allard (McCracken) Nick Bokeno (Murray) Myles McManus (Calloway)
Ricardo Morales (Graves) Austin Stockdale (Marshall) Jaylen Jernigan (Tilghman)
Daniel Gardner (Marshall) Jackson Mundy (Tilghman) Joey Eggemeyer (St. Mary)
Luis Lopez (McCracken) Ty Gamble (Calloway) Charles Pemwell (Murray)
Juan Carillo (Graves) Drake May (Marshall) Evan Darnall (Graves)
Will Benson (Calloway) Seth Janiec (Marshall) Gabe Taylor (Murray)
Tyler Belcher (Marshall) Luis Macias (Graves) Kurtis Palmer (Calloway)
Ben Samson (Marshall) Lee Gamble (Calloway) Ryan Messenger (Murray)