Davenport is lights-out at Kentucky Lake

Tait Davenport made it to Victory Lane for the fourth straight time in the Crate Late Model event.
Tait Davenport made it to Victory Lane for the fourth straight time in the Crate Late Model event.

CALVERT CITY, Kentucky – So far, only the weather has been able to keep Tait Davenport out of victory lane at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway. The Benton, Kentucky, driver won for the fourth time in four starts in Crate Late Model competition at the track Saturday night.

Davenport had to overcome another obstacle to get the win – an electrical problem that caused two of the three light stanchions to go out just after the 25-lap main event got under way. A delay of about a half-hour interrupted the feature event, before illumination was restored.

In other races on the program, Terry English got his third win of the season in Late Model, Matt Cooper became the fourth different winner in Modified, Brian Worley won for the second time in Stock Car and Mike Neighbors notched his second straight win in Pure Stock.

Davenport in the Crate Late Model event Saturday at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway.
Davenport in the Crate Late Model event Saturday at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway.

The Crate feature saw Davenport take the lead on the first lap and hold it all the way, finishing in front of Tanner English, Jeff Walston, Eric Hickerson and Evan Taylor. Taylor started on the outside of the front row beside Davenport and challenged him at the first turn, but dropped back to second and eventually faded back through the top five.

Three caution flags bunched the field for restarts in the final seven laps, but Davenport was equal to all challenges.

In the Late Model feature, pole starter Tim Brown sprinted away into an early lead, but the right rear tire blistered and sidelined the leader after 12 laps. English swept past and kept a perfect record intact at KLMS with a victory in each of his three starts this year.

Levi Kissinger was second, followed by Jarryd Holshouser, Brad Mitchell and Lee Williams.

Trent Young appeared to be headed for his second straight win in the Modified main event, but Cooper overhauled him with four laps to go in the 20-lap race and went on to win ahead of Lucas Lee and Preston Seratt. Young was fourth and Bryce Jewell fifth.

In Stock Car, Worley sped to victory after taking the lead from Chase Estes on the eighth lap of the 12-lap event. Estes was second, and Chad Boone, who had a two-race winning streak, was third. Richie Berryhill was fourth and defending track champion Mike Lentz took fifth.

Worley won at KLMS on opening night April 11.

In Pure Stock, Neighbors led from start to finish to take the win over Gregg Brown, Colby Brandon, Matthew Rollins and Mike Watson.

This Saturday’s program will feature the Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series in a $5,000-to-win main event.

This will be the second visit by the Glasgow, Kentucky-based series, which made its first trip to KLMS on April 18. Brian Shaw was the winner in that feature. The series was also supposed to be part of the rained-out Bluegrass Nationals May 15-16.

Another AMS event is on tap at the Calvert City track for Sept. 26.

Results – Race No. 4, June 6, 2015

CRATE – 1. Tait Davenport, Benton, Kentucky; 2. Tanner English, Benton, Kentucky; 3. Jeff Walston, Paducah, Kentucky; 4. Eric Hickerson, Linden, Tennessee; 5. Evan Taylor, Woodlawn, Tennessee; 6. Ricky Waggoner, Martin, Tennessee; 7. Chris Shelton, Paducah, Kentucky; 8. Adam Ray, Smithland, Kentucky; 9. Kevin Poole, Paducah, Kentucky; 10. Logan Brown, White Bluff, Tennessee; 11. Joe Mike, Mayfield, Kentucky; 12. Kevin Cole, Benton, Illinois; 13. Troy English, Calvert City, Kentucky; 14. Credence Mott, Vienna, Illinois; 15. Andrew Allen, Paris, Tennessee; 16. Ronnie Cooper, McKenzie, Tennessee; 17. Dane Dacus, Lakeland, Tennessee; DID NOT START: Neal Neisler, Cadiz, Kentucky

Heat race winners: Tate Davenport, Evan Taylor, Jeff Walston
Fast qualifier: Tait Davenport, 16.127 seconds

LATE MODEL – 1. Terry English, Benton, Kentucky; 2. Levi Kissinger, Mt. Vernon, Indiana; 3. Jarryd Holshouser, Boaz, Kentucky; 4. Brad Mitchell, Madisonville, Kentucky; 5. Lee Williams, Haubstadt, Indiana; 6. Tim Brown, Benton, Kentucky; 7. Dylan Thompson, Paducah, Kentucky; 8. Todd Hall, Charleston, Missouri

Fast qualifier: Dylan Thompson, 14.922

MODIFIED – 1. Matt Cooper, McKenzie, Tennessee; 2. Lucas Lee, Paris, Tennessee; 3. Preston Seratt, Dyersburg, Tennessee; 4. Trent Young, Hopkinsville, Kentucky; 5. Bryce Jewell, Madisonville, Kentucky; 6. Jeff Parks, Marion, Illinois; 7. Rod Reed, Mayfield, Kentucky; 8. Mike Powers, Burleson, Tennessee; 9. Josh Holley, Cadiz, Kentucky; 10. Tom Sample, Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Heat race winners: Trent Young, Matt Cooper
Fast qualifier: Trent Young, 17.207

STOCK CAR – 1. Brian Worley, St. Mary, Missouri; 2. Chase Estes, Owensboro, Kentucky; 3. Chad Boone, Owensboro, Kentucky; 4. Richie Berryhill, McKenzie, Tennessee; 5. Mike Lentz, Herrin, Illinois; 6. Brent Stevenson, Benton, Kentucky; 7. Joe Hamm, Dover, Tennessee; 8. Ben Shearon, Cedar Hill, Tennessee; 9. Tya Cunningham, Murray, Kentucky

Heat race winners: Richie Berryhill, Chase Estes

PURE STOCK – 1. Mike Neighbors, Cerulean, Kentucky; 2. Gregg Brown, Burns, Tennessee. 3. Colby Brandon, Trezevant, Tennessee; 4. Matthew Rollins, Princeton, Kentucky; 5. Mike Watson, West Paducah, Kentucky; 6. Billy Collum, Clarksville, Tennessee; 7. Mike Welch, Hopkinsville, Kentucky; 8. Stephen Newton, Benton, Kentucky; 9. Randy Swift, Almo, Kentucky; 10. Alan Burton, Dover, Tennessee; DID NOT START: Dillon White, Hopkinsville, Kentucky

Heat race winners: Mike Neighbors, Colby Brandon

Terry English won the Late Model event at KLMS Saturday.
Terry English won the Late Model event at KLMS Saturday.