Marshall County first in Memphis, lead team standings after Race #3

Marshall County’s Olivia Myhand (gold Leader jersey #100) at the start of the girl’s JV race Sunday in Memphis. Myhand took the win and leads the overall JV girl’s series after the first three races.

Three races are in the books for the Marshall County High School and Middle School mountain bike teams following Sunday’s Race #3 of the Tennessee Interscholastic Cycling League season held at Shelby Farms in Memphis, TN.

The high school team is three for three so far in the 2019 season after winning on Sunday, leading Williamson County Composite in second and Lock 4 Trailblazers Composite in third among a field of 25 teams. The middle school team placed second Sunday, just one point from first place Hamilton and Bradley County Composite and are second overall after the first three races in a 22 team field.

Fourteen Marshall County team members raced their way onto the podium Sunday that included five first place finishes. Those first place finishes came from Presleigh Jennings (Varsity), Olivia Myhand  (JV), Chase Binkley (Sophomore), Allie Burkeen (Freshman) and Memphis Ford (8th Grade). Four second podium finishes came from Alyssa McClain (Varsity), Jaxon Story (Varsity), Claire Austin (8th Grade) and Emma Roberts (6th Grade). Two third place finishes came from Aniston Barnes (8th Grade) and Evie Powell (7th Grade). Jace Story (Freshman) placed fourth and two fifth place podium spots went to Caleb Pahl (Freshman) and Chase Yarbrough (8th Grade).

After three races, four Marshall County riders are leading their divisions as overall Points Leaders  – Presleigh Jennings (Varsity), Olivia Myhand (JV), Chase Binkley (Sophomore) and Claire Austin (8th Grade).

Race #4 of the five race series takes place October 20th at Panther Creek State Park in Morristown, TN. Full Race #3  Marshall County results and podium results below photos.

Clay Austin (right) finished fifth and Kaden Jameson (left) finished sixth in the Varsity race at Sunday’s Race #3 of the Tennessee Cycling League.
Allie Burkeen, on the wheel of Freshman girl’s leader Abigail Walker (Christ Presbyterian Academy), took the lead in the final stretch of the race to grab her first win of the season.
Chase Binkley, Sophomore Leader, rode to his third first place finish of the season Sunday at Shelby Farms in Memphis.
Emma Roberts took second place in the girl’s sixth grade race Sunday. The Marshall County Middle School team finished just one point out of first place in Sunday’s race.
Start of the 8th Grade boys race in Memphis Sunday. Marshall County riders Memphis Ford (3022) took the win in the race and Ty Elrod (3012) finished ninth in a large field of 47 riders.

Marshall County Race #3 results:

Presleigh Jennings, 1st-Varsity Jaxon Story, 2nd-Varsity
Alyssa McClain, 2nd-Varsity Clay Austin, 5th-Varsity
Olivia Myhand, 1st-JV Kaden Jameson, 6th Varsity
Allie Burkeen, 1st-Freshman Kaleb Cosby, 9th Varsity
Jasper Cosby, 7th-Freshman Joseph Roberts, 12th JV
Claire Austin, 2nd-8th Grade Carson Denfip, 15th JV
Aniston Barnes, 3rd-8th Grade Chase Binkley, 1st-Sophomore
Evie Powell, 3rd-7th Grade Caleb Pahl, 5th-Sophomore
Emma Roberts, 2nd-6th Grade Trae Harbison, 16th Sophomore
Marshall Gregory, 18th-Sophomore
Gabe Driskill, 41st Sophomore
Jace Story, 4th-Freshman
Wade Driver, 19th-Freshman
Memphis Ford, 1st-8th Grade
Chase Yarbrough, 5th-8th Grade
Ty Elrod, 9th-Sophomore
Canyon McKinney, 22nd-7th Grade
Braxton Lima, 10th-6th Grade
Brady Atkins, 11th-6th Grade
Ian Dillon, 22nd-6th Grade

Race #3 Podiums/Points Leaders
1 Presleigh Jennings-Points Leader (Marshall)
2 Alyssa McClain (Marshall)
3 Perry Sherwood (Christ Presbyterian)
1 Troy Fields-Points Leader (Lock 4)
2 Jaxon Story (Marshall)
3 Jack Gessler (Williamson County)
1 Olivia Myhand-Points Leader (Marshall)
2 Libby Neubauer (St. Andrews-Sewanee)
3 Makenna Reilly (Harpeth Youth)
1 Max Baudenbacher (Montgomery Bell)
2 Gabe Holcomb-Points Leader (Independent)
3 Asa Holiday (Williamson County)
4 Benjamin Simcoe (Collierville)
5 Gage King (Collierville)
1 Ava Cherry-Points Leader (West High School)
2 Maya Reilly (Harpeth Youth)
3 Emma Claud (Lock 4)
1 Chase Binkley-Points Leader (Marshall)
2 Josiah Matheny (Paducah-McCracken)
3 Brent Smith (Williamson County)
4 Sam Wuller (Franklin High School)
5 Caleb Pahl (Marshall)
1 Allie Burkeen-Points Leader (Marshall)
2 Abigail Waller-Points Leader (Christ Presbyterian)
3 Kyra Goetsch (Collierville)
1 Will Majure-Points Leader (Hamilton and Bradley)
2 Trace Schoeberl (Columbia Composite)
3 AJ Clements (St. Andrews-Sewanee)
4 Jace Story (Marshall)
5 Stephen Glisson (Paducah-McCracken)
1 Isabella Donnelly (Collierville)
2 Claire Austin-Points Leader (Marshall)
3 Aniston Barnes (Marshall
1 Memphis Ford (Marshall)
2 Colin O’Neal-Points Leader (Williamson County)
3 Brady Lawson (Hamilton and Bradley)
4 Zach Lowe (Independent)
5 Chase Yarbrough (Marshall)
1 Brianna Majure-Points Leader (Hamilton and Bradley)
2 Arianna Akins (Paducah-McCracken)
3 Evie Powell (Marshall)
1 Reid Farmer-Points Leader (Hamilton and Bradley)
2 Sam McCoy (Williamson County)
3 Brayden Leach (Williamson County)
4 Noah Johnson (Hamilton and Bradley)
5 Bryson Greene (Collierville)
1 Shelbi Field-Points Leader (Independent)
2 Emma Roberts (Marshall)
3 Maxine Richards (Hamilton and Bradley)
1 Bryar Bentley (Fayette County)
2 Ryder Ortner (Harpeth Youth)
3 Will Hackney-Points Leader (Christ Presbyterian)
4 Ryan Hendon (Lock 4)
5 Burton Moore (Columbia Composite)